Finding participants

May 10, 2011

In order for this research to commence I first need to find participants.  The past couple of months I have contacted many people in the hope that I can find some likely candidates to take part in my online course.  I decided to use ‘facebook’ to contact my friends in Japan and also asked other EFL teachers if they knew of anyone who would be interested in joining the course for one month.  It has been a very stressful process and I didn’t realise how difficult it would be to find some participants.

Here is my original message which I send to several people:

How are you?
I’m writing to you to ask for some assistance.
In order to gather some data for the dissertation I need some participants to assist me with a short course evaluation.
I have recently made an on-line course which will assist EFL learners in practising English and discovering a global community on-line. I was wondering if you have any friends living in Japan (with an intermediate or advanced level of English) who would like to take part on my free course.
It would be over four weeks and require between 2-3 hrs per week. I realise that Japanese people are very busy and therefore this course will be flexible to their needs.
I just wanted to see if you know of anyone who would be interested in helping me out and at the same time they can discover the benefits of an on-line learning environment.
Please assist me in spreading the word and pass on my e.mail address to anyone interested: andywebster79@gmail.com

Thanks for taking the time to read this message.

I have tried contacting some friends but so far it’s not happening.

I found that people did not reply or if they did they would state that they could not offer the time as they were too busy.  My EFL friends were very helpful and contacted many people to spread the word and tried their best to find some participants.  I constantly checked my e.mail hoping that someone would reply but nothing happened.  I was starting to think that this would not work and that I would need to change my dissertation focus.

Leave a Reply

